International Soca Monarch semi-finalists announced

FeteNetUncategorisedLeave a Comment

Shal Marshall

Joseph Charles –


It’s the time of year when we wait feverishly for the roll call of artists who’ve made it through to the semi-final rounds of the International Soca Monarch competitions, with its two categories of Groovy Soca and Power Soca.

The past few days have seen a shift, with Fay-Ann Lyons Alvarez resigning as Creative Director of the event, and the subsequent installation of Simon Baptiste.

The semi-finals are scheduled to be held this coming Sunday 2 February at the Arima Velodrome in Trinidad; a live stream usually accompanies this event, but is unconfirmed until nearer the time.

The finals will be held on ‘Fantastic Friday’, Carnival Friday 22 February, and will see last year’s winners, Power Soca Monarch Mr Killa and Groovy Soca Monarch Swappi, defend their crowns.

The Groovy semi-finalists are:

Blaxx (Dexter Stewart)

Banjela (Addelon Braveboy) & Singing Sandra (Sandra Des Vignes-Millington)

Teddy (Teddyson John)

Lexxi (Alexi Brown)

Skinny Banton (Shirlan George)

Teddy Rhymez (Teddon Mark)

Soca Trainer (Nicholas Prescott)

College Boy Jesse (Jesse Stewart)

Rayzor (Allister Mc Quilkin)

Leadpipe (Osvald Reid)

Preedy (Akeem Chance)

Leonce (Leonce Taylor)

Hey Choppi  (Sean Padmore)

Marzville (Omar Mc Quilkin)

Kells (Keron Sutton)

Shal Marshall (Stephenson Marshall)

Nicha B (Nicha Byron)

Hance John

Asten Isaac

M1 (Sherwin Jerimiah)

GI (Imram Beharry)

Rome (Jerome Precilla)

Mr Famous (Junior Noel)

Kibwee (Kibwee Prescot)

Ding Dong (Andre Houlder)

Juby (Jumaane Cox)

Chingee (Shaquille Mark)

Kerry John

Jadel (Jardine Legere)

Yankey Boy (Kevon Heath)

Isaiah (Isaiah Mc Phee)

Bana (Anthony Basuic)


The Power semi-finalists are:

Olatunji (Olatunji Yearwood)

Iwer George (Neil George)

Shal Marshall (Stephenson Marshall)

Problem Child (Shertz James)

Luni Spark & Electrify (Kellon & Kelson Ogiste)

Mical Teja (Mical Williams)

Jadel (Jardine Legere)

Blaxx (Dexter Stewart)

Lyrikal (Devon Martin)

Walkes (Jamar Walkes)

Preedy (Akeem Chance)

Chantwell (Rubadiri Victor)

Zan (Joel Feveck)

Trinidad Ghost (Akel Mc Lean)

Prince George (Marlon Duncan)

Jboy & Issa (Jivant Peters & Isa Abdullah)

Greville (Greville Rogers)

Quin-C (Quincy Chadee)

Kerlz and Leonce (Kerlene Joseph & Leonce Taylor)

Chingee (Shaquille Mark)

Nigel Lewis

Rome (Jerome Precilla)

Imani Ray (Imani Patterson)

Femi (Oluwa Femi Baptiste)

Macoy (Richard Valentine)

Prophet Benjamin (Devon Samuel)

College Boy Jesse (Jesse Stewart)

Mr Renzo (Lawrence Adams)

Blackie (Irvin Blackman)

Tim Tim & Rayzor (Kerron Boodoosingh & Allister Mc Quilkin)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *